1996 Awards

Navy Unit Commendation Award - NRL/ONR for "unparalleled research and development that significantly contributed to the technological capabilities of current and future Naval forces."

Vice President's Hammer Award - Recognizes new standards of excellence achieved by teams helping to reinvent government. Dr. Stephen Mango "as a key member of the Tri-Agency Convergence Transition Team, which combined the separate U.S. military and civil polar meteorological satellite programs into the National Polar-orbiting Operational Environmental Satellite System (NPOESS), a single U.S. national program."

Environmental Protection Agency's Stratospheric Ozone Protection Award - Navy Technology Center for Safety and Survivability (NTCSS) for exceptional leadership, personal dedication, and technical achievements in eliminating ozone-depleting substances.

Cosmos Club Award - Dr. Herbert Friedman "in recognition of more than 50 years of distinguished scientific achievement and public service."

The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (TMS) Leadership Award - Dr. Bhakta Rath for "outstanding leadership in research planning and guidance and for promoting material science and engineering for national security and society."

The Electrochemical Society (ECS), National Capital Section, William Blum Award - Dr. Paul Natishan for "recognition of his outstanding contributions to the field of corrosion science and protection, especially in the area of passivity and its breakdown."

Federal Laboratory Consortium Award for Excellence in Technology Transfer: - Dr. Allen Garroway for the successful transfer of nuclear quadrupole resonance (NQR) technology for explosives detection to the commercial sector.

Link to the Research Highlights page