2007 Awards

DTRA's 2007 Chemical and Biological Defense Program International Award - Anne Kusterbeck for outstanding contributions to furthering collaborative research between the United States and her allies or between an allied nation and the United States.

ONR's Fred E. Saalfeld Award for Outstanding Lifetime Achievement in Science - Dr. Thomas Rosmond for having "a significant, direct transitional impact from science and technology to naval operations" through his involvement in the Navy Operational Global Atmospheric Prediction System.

DoN Information Management/Information Technology (IM/IT) Excellence Award - Keith Rohwer, Joseph Mathews and Joseph Langley for their work on PROMETHEUS, a web-based situational awareness tool that defends against malicious network activity on the Navy component of the Global Information Grid, a secure, interconnected information environment.

2007 Albert Nerken Award from the American Vacuum Society (AVS) - Dr. Richard J. Colton "for seminal scientific insights that accelerated the development of vastly improved surface and nanoscale analytical techniques, and of innovative biomolecular sensors."

2007 Best-of-the-Best Stratospheric Ozone Protection Award from the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) - Dr. Ronald Sheinson for "leadership in research, development, and system design in alternatives to halon."

SAE International's Arch T. Colwell Merit Award - Dr. Michael Hadjimichael named a corecipient of this outstanding paper award for his work on "Development of a Fuzzy Expert System for Aviation Risk Modeling."

Office of Naval Research Dr. Arthur E. Bisson Prize for Naval Technology - Dr. Frederick W. Williams for "numerous and renowned contributions to the enhanced survivability and recoverability of Naval ships, submarines, aircraft and personnel through innovative technology..."

The Henry Levinstein Award from the Military Sensing Symposium Detector Specialty Group on Infrared Detectors - Mr. James Waterman for "outstanding management and leadership in the development of Large-format Focal Plane Arrays and Multi-color Focal Plane Arrays."

Ecole Centrale de Lyon (ECL) Honorary Doctorate - Dr. Elaine Oran for "her influential path-breaking contributions to archival scientific literature and her outstanding service to the professional community." The degree was presented to Dr. Oran as part of ECL's 150th anniversary and is only the sixth honorary doctorate that the school has ever given.

2007 IVEC Award for Excellence in Vacuum Electronics from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers - Dr. Baruch Levush for "pioneering contributions to the development of advanced models and design tools for vacuum electronic devices, and visionary leadership in the vacuum electronic industry."

Link to the Careers section