2002 News Releases

More information and visuals that are not available electronically may be obtained by contacting the NRL Public Affairs Office. New items are added as they are released.

Subscribe to NRL News Releases

Scientific & Technical Interest
1/23 NRL Breaks Ground for Nanoscience Building
2/4 InfraLynx Communications System Supports Winter Olympics
2/25 NRL Flight Support Detachment - The Navy's Future is Now
3/25 DC-ARM Marks the Wave of Future Damage Control
4/22 NRL Inventions Bring Carbon Nanotubes Closer to Electronic Device Application
5/10 NRL Research Team Demonstrates WARLOC Radar
5/29 Dr. John Montgomery Named New NRL Director of Research
6/5 Technological Advances Allow Astronomers to Open New Window on the Universe
6/5 NRL's POAM III Measurements Confirm This Year's Shrinking Ozone Hole Caused by Unusual Stratospheric Weather Patterns
6/5 NRL Researchers win Bowen Patent Invention Award for Voice Communication Processing System
7/30 NRL Inclined-Orbit Satellite Link is a First for Sea-Based Joint Air Operations Center (JOAC)
8/14 GRACE Robot Team Meets the Challenge
9/23 NRL's LASCO Achieves Milestone in Finding Comets
12/6 Oceanographers Respond to Request for Help on Massive Oil Spill
12/12 NRL WindSat Experiment to Launch on December 15
12/19 Drug Detection Device Based on NRL Technology Acknowledged as a Top Innovation of 2002

Featured Stories
1/11 Dr. C. Michael Roland Receives Melvin Mooney Distinguished Technology Award
2/1 NRL's Outreach Program Wins Naval District Washington Regional Award
2/15 Dr. Bhakta Rath Receives the National Materials Advancement Award
2/15 NRL Scientists Win Marcus A. Grossman Young Author Award
2/28 NRL's Dr. Elaine Oran Receives Dryden Lectureship Award
3/18 Dr. Robert Soulen, Jr., Receives 2002 Joseph F. Keithley Award
4/8 Dr. Judith Lean Elected to AGU Fellowship
7/10 Dr. Elain Oran Inducted into Women in Technology Hall of Fame
8/23 NRL's Dr. Eric Hartwig Assumes Position as President of the Oceanography Society
8/27 NRL's Dr. Bhakta Rath Named Fellow of the Institute of Materials of the United Kingdom
9/13 Dr. Christian Rauscher Receives Washington Academy of Sciences Award
9/13 Dr. John Sethian Receives Fusion Power Associates' Leadership Award
10/17 Dr. Jones-Meehan Receives Technology Transfer Award
11/15 NRL's Dr. Kruer Receives ONR Bisson Award
12/18 Dr. Thomas Carruthers Receives Technology Transfer Award