2005 News Releases

More information and visuals that are not available electronically may be obtained by contacting the NRL Public Affairs Office. New items are added as they are released.

Subscribe to NRL News Releases

Scientific & Technical Interest
1/10 Astronomers Opening a New Window on the Universe
2/10 NRL Scientists Search for "Magic" Dust
2/22 NRL Researchers Develop Flexible Arm and Leg Blast Armor
3/2 Astronomers Detect Powerful Bursting Radio Source; Discovery Points to New Class of Astronomical Objects
4/26 NRL's GRAB Satellite Displayed in Smithsonian Air and Space Museum
5/3 NRL Researchers Develop Universal Communication Interface Module
5/12 Project ANDE Assembly and Testing Nears Completion at NRL for Fall Delivery to NASA
5/12 ANDE Risk Reduction Mission - Design and fabrication of satellites
5/31 NRL SSC Leads New Battlespace Environments Institute
6/1 NRL Co-Sponsors CanSat Competition
6/6 NRL Develops Self-cleaning "Smart" Fabrics Capable of Environmental Toxin Remediation
7/6 NRL Study Finds Shuttle Exhaust is Source of Mysterious Clouds in Antarctica
7/7 Discovery of 'Doping' Mechanism in Semiconductor Nanocrystals Advances Potential of Nanotechnology
7/19 NRL-Stennis Researchers Play a Major Role in Counterterrorism Exercise
8/1 NRL's HAIL Technology Transitions to the Aegis System
8/5 NRL Measures Record Wave During Hurricane Ivan
8/24 NRL Teams with Smithsonian Institution, Penn State University and Ocean Optics to Study Properties of the Hope Diamond
9/6 NRL Develops Fully Autonomous Compact Electric Helicopter
9/19 NRL's Forward Technology Solar Cell Experiment Flies as Part of MISSE5 Aboard Space Shuttle Discovery Mission
10/4 NRL Smart Probe Technology Improves Soil Analysis
10/24 NRL Scientists Detect "Milky Sea" Phenomena
11/14 NRL InfraLynx Deployed to Gulf Coast
11/29 NRL Demonstrates Fuel Cell-Powered Unmanned Aerial System

Featured Stories
1/5 Dr. Virginia DeGiorgi Elected a Fellow of ASME
1/24 NRL Presents Annual E.O. Hulburt Award for Scientific Achievement to Dr. Neil Sheeley
2/2 NRL's Jeff Hawkins Recognized by American Meteorological Society
3/10 Dr. Antiochos Receives AAS Hale Prize; Elected AGU Fellow
3/21 Dr. Zakya Kafafi Elected Fellow of the International Society for Optical Engineering
3/28 Dr. Frances Ligler Elected to National Academy of Engineering
4/5 NRL Researchers Receive TTCP Achievement Award
4/6 NRL's Dr. Igor Mazin named APS fellow
5/24 Chemistry Division Team Receives ESTCP Award for Airborne MTADS Array
6/20 NRL Researcher Receives CAP Award For NRL-CAP Collaborative Effort
6/28 Meritorious Rank Awards Bestowed on NRLers
6/28 Dr. Bhakta Rath Receives Presidential Rank Award for Meritorious Executive
6/28 Dr. Herbert Eppert Receives Presidential Rank Award for Meritorious Executive
6/28 Dr. Thomas Giallorenzi Receives Presidential Rank Award for Meritorious Executive
6/28 Dr. Elaine Oran Receives Presidential Rank Award for Senior Professional
6/28 Dr. Gary Prinz Receives Presidential Rank Award for Senior Professional
8/1 NRL Researchers' Audio Alerting Technology Part of HAIL-SS Transition to Aegis
8/15 Secretary of Defense Medal Honors Dr. Leonard Buckley for Contributions to Defense Science
9/27 Dr. Lloyd Whitman Named a Fellow of AVS Science and Technology Society
10/17 Dr. Jay Boris Receives AIAA 2005 Fluid Dynamics Award
11/28 Dr. Carter T. White Receives E.O. Hulburt Award
12/7 President Announces Roger Easton Recipient of National Medal of Technology