An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Home : News & Media : News

    NRL News & Press Releases

NEWS | July 27, 2015

Dr. David Abe Elected IEEE Fellow

By Daniel Parry

Dr. David Abe, head of the Electromagnetics Technology Branch at the U.S. Naval Research Laboratory (NRL), has been named Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) for leadership and contributions to the development of high power microwave and millimeter wave vacuum electronic devices.

As a supervisory research physicist at NRL, Abe leads a 47-person multi-disciplinary group of physicists, materials scientists, engineers, mechanical designers, and technicians involved in research and exploratory development of radio-frequency concepts, materials, devices, components, and circuits in the ultra-high to terahertz frequency range.

One of Dr. Abe's most significant accomplishments is his work with multiple-beam klystrons, states Dr. Baruch Levush, superintendent of the Electronics Science and Technology Division (ES&TD). His team used an innovative development approach that emphasized simulation-based design to achieve optimized performance without the need for multiple hardware prototyping. Levush adds: The overall success of his leadership can be seen in the first-pass design successes of three successive multiple-beam klystrons — a class of vacuum electronic amplifier — each more challenging in design and performance than its predecessor: This work also stands as a good example of Dr. Abe's ability to combine individual technical expertise with superb leadership and organizational skills.

Abe received a Bachelor of Science in engineering from Harvey Mudd College (1981), a Master of Science in electrical engineering from the University of California, Davis (1988), and a doctorate in electrophysics from the University of Maryland (1992). At the University of Maryland, Abe was a major contributor to several high power microwave (HPM) research projects including experiments with plasma-filled backward-wave oscillators, overmoded backward-wave oscillators, and the first U.S. experiments with multiwave Cherenkov generators. In 1996 he joined the Vacuum Electronics Branch at the NRL.

Prior to NRL, Abe worked on interdisciplinary projects in pulsed power, high power microwave generation, and electromagnetic effects at the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, Berkeley Research Associates, and the U.S. Army Research Laboratory.

In 2006 Abe became a section head of the Devices and Design Section of the Vacuum Electronics Branch, and from 2010 to 2013 he also served acting branch head. In 2013 he became the head of a newly established Electromagnetics Technology Branch in ES&TD.

The world's prominent professional association for advancing technology for humanity, the IEEE, through its 400,000 members in 160 countries, is a leading authority on a wide variety of areas ranging from aerospace systems, computers and telecommunications to biomedical engineering, electric power and consumer electronics. The IEEE Board of Directors confers the grade of Fellow upon nominated members that demonstrate an extraordinary record of accomplishments in any of the IEEE fields of interest.

News Search